_DSC0173.jpg

Become A Tutor

Over 700 adults seek out a tutor to provide them with individualized instruction and mentoring through gaining up to a 5th grade level of reading and writing and/or English language proficiency.

Volunteers can get trained to tutor either ESL or Basic Literacy learners. LCMC provides all the necessary training, resources, and support to volunteers to be fully prepared to guide their student to success. A 1-hour informational session and a 3-hour training class are required before being paired with a learner.

ESL students are learning to master English language proficiency, which may include any combination of speaking, listening comprehension, reading, and/or writing. Basic Literacy students are adults who are native and/or fluent English speakers, but may have had difficulties learning to read and write during grade school and/or in traditional learning environments and need more personalized instruction to move at their own pace.

Upcoming Information Sessions:
All held at our office on the 3rd floor of the Rockville Memorial Library.
(Register here for the one that best fits your schedule!)

Friday, May 31, 2019: 10:00 am – 11:00 am
Wednesday, June 3, 2019: 2:00 pm – 3:00 pm
Friday, June 14, 2019: 10:00 am – 11:00 am
Wednesday, June 26, 2019: 6:00 pm – 7:00 pm
Tuesday, July 2, 2019: 2:00 pm - 3:00 pm
Friday, July 5, 2019: 9:30 am - 10:30 am
Thursday, July 18, 2019: 6:00 pm - 7:00 pm
Wednesday, August 14, 2019: 9:30-10:30am
Thursday, August 29, 2019: 6:00 pm - 7:00 pm
Friday, September 6, 2019: 9:30 am - 10:30 am
Wednesday, September 11, 2019: 2:00 pm - 3:00 pm
Thursday, September 26, 2019: 6:00 pm - 7:00 pm
Tuesday, October 1, 2019: 9:30 am - 10:30am
Wednesday, October 9, 2019: 6:00 pm -7:00 pm
Tuesday, October 29, 2019: 9:30 am - 10:30 am
Wednesday, November 6, 2019: 2:00 pm - 3:00 pm
Thursday, November 14, 2019: 6;00 pm - 7:00 pm
Friday, November 22, 2019: 9:30 am - 10:30 am
Thursday, December 5, 2019: 6:00 pm - 7:00 pm
There is also an Online Option for those who cannot make the above dates - you can select this option in the same Registration Form as you would any of these dates.)

All information sessions are held in LCMC’s office on the 3rd floor of the Rockville Library. The library is located at 21 Maryland Avenue, Suite 320, Rockville, MD 20850. It is in the Rockville Town Square and your best parking option is Garage A, on Maryland Avenue. The library will validate up to two hours of free parking.

For any additional questions, prospective volunteers can contact Fidel Velez, Community Resources Manager, at fidel@lcmcmd.org or (301) 610-0030.